Gastronomy: Song-fa’s Bak Kuh Teh

Six days are already gone, it’s my first weekend in Singapore for this trip. My Filipino colleagues want to treat to a good dinner – something Singaporean. I heard one said she’s craving for Bak Kuh Teh. Ah, Bak Kuh Teh! I am quite familiar with term. I know it’s food but still clueless of how it taste or looks like.

We took the train to the city area. It was a long ride, like 30 minutes (Tanah Merah to Outram).

IMG-20130222-00963

Smiling through my harassed look. Yeah, I’m excited.

Then changed from Green to Purple line to reach Clark Quay.

IMG-20130222-00964

We’ve reached Clark Quay at around 7PM. My colleagues can’t seem to figure out which way to go. My stomach is starting to grumble. I’ve been to this area before but I am not sure what we’re looking for. I remained quiet observing. We crossed a street, and there it is! Songfa Bak Kut Teh!

IMG-20130222-00967

It’s a Friday. The resto is expectedly full. The auntie at the entrance asked us to sit on their waiting bench. The sound of the plates makes my stomach grumble all the more. Gee, I’m really hungry. The food should be worth the wait. We have our turn after 10 minutes. We are seated on the far end of the resto near the kitchen. My colleagues were busy discussing what to order while I am occupied observing (again). I ordered Bak Kuh Teh, a serving of rice and water.

IMG-20130222-00970

The set-up of the resto resembles an old Chinese Village with some antique items displayed on the shelves. There were vintage cameras, tea sets and abacus. There’s no dress code to observe.

I was re-oriented that water and table napkins are not free in Singapore. These are available for a fee. What’s free is chili. 🙂

IMG-20130222-00969

Here comes the star of the night. Song Fa Bak Kuh Teh. Now I have a story to tell. I have tasted Bak Kuh Teh! A trivia: Bak Kuh Teh literally means “meat bone tea”.

IMG-20130222-00971It looks like pork rib soup similar to our Sinigang without the veggies. It has a strong taste of pepper and garlic. The flesh falls off the bones. Sarap to the buto! A new favorite is named. Oh, you can ask for unlimited soup refill. I think I was able to finish 3 bowls of soup.  A little warning: soup could be too hot.

Bak Kuh Teh is available in 2 sizes: a small one for SGD 6.00 and the bigger serving for SGD 8.00.

Song Fa is located at 11 New Bridge Rd, #01-01, Singapore 059383 and is open between 7:00 am – 9:30 pm. 

Leave a Reply

