Roaming Around in Circle: Yellow Line Adventure Singapore

Second weekend! My overseas assignment will be over in 2 weeks! I am tempted to laze at home pero sayang naman ang Singapore trip if I just stay at home. I finished my weekend chores of washing my laundry, cleaning the electric fan and sweeping the floor. My explorer feet is now starting to itch for a walking adventure. I had invites from friends and relatives to visit them. I was thinking of checking new attractions, too. Amazingly, all my scheduled meet-ups and adventures are along the Circle Line (Yellow Line). Circle because it resembles a circle.

Singapore Train System

Paminsan-minsan dapat kelangan ko ding mawala. Para mas masaya, wag magtanong. Ano ka ate, lalake? (Sorry for being gender insensitive.)

Among the train lines in Singapore, this is the one I find tricky. I’ve always been good with directions and map navigation but it doesn’t seem to work with the Circle Line. It would take a number of rides to practice it.

First Stop: Caldecott
Agenda: Visit cousin at work

Caldecott should be 8 stops from Paya Lebar Interchange (EW8) bound to Harbourfront. I did not read direction so I ended up boarding on a wrong train. I boarded a rain bound to Dhoby Ghaut. Harrr! It really pays to read. It will save you from unwanted long walks.

I don’t want to go back to Paya Lebar so I continued my journey by bus adding an hour to my journey. Kuya Edison laughed at my misadventure.

Attractions: None that I know of. Hmm, MediaCorp is nearby. It’s like their ABS-CBN in SG. There are also a number of landscaping and florist companies. Kuya Edison toured me around their shop and catch up a bit. By noon, it’s time to say bye-bye.

482574_10151445079245053_194472722_n

Second Stop: Serangoon
Agenda: Say Hello to Pinky, a friend I haven’t seen in years.

Deja Vu! I used to live here in 2010. Back then, NEX Mall is still under construction. On my return, it was already fully-operational and I am meeting my friend here. Yehey!

Meeting Pinky after 2 years

Seeing a familiar face in a foreign land is simply joy. We had so much to catch-up. She is now based in Singapore for work. I promised to visit her again before going back to the Philippines.

Third Stop: Marina Bay
Agenda: Check out Gardens by the Bay, Marina Bay Sands

Going here by train is a bit tricky. Here’s how:
From Serangoon, board a train towards Dhoby Ghaut. Stop at Promenade station and transfer to the train heading towards Marina Bay station at platform B. Alight at Bayfront Station, 1 stop later.

To reach Gardens by the Bay, take exit B  and follow the underground linkway to Gardens by the Bay via the Dragonfly Bridge. You will be amused with the mirrors and the large printouts of flowers and trees.

What’s there to see? Tourists and locals! Just kidding. Gardens by the Bay features the Super Trees and two garden domes: Flower Dome and Cloud Forest.  The Super Trees glow at night. What’s interesting is that the are solar-powered. Visitors and tourists can “skywalk” on the bridges linking the super trees. Flower Dome and Cloud Forest are home to a more than a hundred of thousands of plant species around the world. Fees are listed below:

Super Tree Audio Guided Skywalk – SGD 5.00
Flower Dome and Cloud Forest – SGD 28.00

I don’t want to spend so much for this exploratory walk so I made most of the time checking out the public areas – Heritage Gardens and Dragonfly & Kingfisher Lakes.

Eve - gardens by the bay

Striking a pose with Eve – a new friend from Phuket.

Down side of exploring alone: no one will take a picture of you. Blah, blah, that’s not true. You can always ask a friendly tourist or local to do it for you.  Who knows, you can also make a new friend by doing that. Like my experience.

417679_10151444311350053_405187603_n

It’s almost 7PM and my feet start to because of the long walks I did today. Seeing these new attractions amazed me. I am really glad to be back in Singapore.

 

Leave a Reply

