Travel and Its Evolving Meaning

Travels are part of my growing up years and the term has evolved and had different meanings through time. When I was younger, travels are equivalent to a visit to relatives to the far side of our Province Isabela, buying school supplies from Manila or bringing food provisions to my brother who is studying away from home. Travel is spending time sitting on the car seat and saying hello to relatives. A pasalubong or pabaon is a bonus. My view of going to places changed when our family acquired a new car. Travel is now termed as road trip. Road trip that can last for more than 12 hours. In fact, Isabela-Cagayan-Ilocos-Baguio-Manila-Isabela is a usual route. These are times when family members shares stories, dreams, jokes and even secrets. There was one funny experience we had that still causes a burst of laughter when recalled. It’s the time I learned to open up to my family and treat them as friends. Roadtrips are also means of celebrating. I’ve seen Callao Cave, first climbed Burgos Lighthouse, flew to Singapore to celebrate academic successes. These memories remains fresh in mind and will be immortalize by sharing them to generation after me.

One of the boys. Chilling at Burgos Lighthouse parking lot. Ilocos Norte, April 2003

One of the boys. Chilling at Burgos Lighthouse parking lot. Ilocos Norte, April 2003

Field trips and immersions is the term more popular during university days. Going some place to learn. I have slept in a humble abode near a landfill in San Pedro, Laguna and learned about the community. It was one of the experiences that made me realize I am still lucky to have a decent roof over my head and a piece of land my family can call as our own. Also, I came to realize that you can better appreciate a situation once you yourself had a first hand experience of it. Exploration entails of appreciating places more than just looking at it. In my opinion that’s how field trips should be called. I had been to the crater of Taal Volcano in a very hot summer day for my Geology 1 class. So how will you know that your academic days are over? That’s when you beam a smile to an immigration and say “I’m on a business trip.”

All aboard. Departure from Changi Airport, September 2013. Yes, I'm going home after months in Singapore.

All aboard. Departure from Changi Airport, September 2013. Yes, I’m going home after months in Singapore.

Out-stationed. That’s how travels are terms in this season of my life. Travels in the business world is equivalent to building a new business and building a new network. For me, outstationed is appreciation. Honestly, I better appreciated my company’s business model when I occupied a seat in our Singapore headquarters. I enjoyed much learning a new culture. And for someone who is into systems and processes, this one is my thing.

Out-of-town is a way for friends to reconnect, catch up with each other and of course to bond. I have friends who I have grown up traveling with. There are times we would laugh at the idea of renting a bus to accommodate us, our babies and our babies’ nannies when our time comes. The North has been a preferred destination for these trips. We have been to Ilocos and Baguio back in 2011 and 2012, respectively. We have originally set Bohol for 2013 but due to the tragedies, and changes in each individuals lives we have to move it to October for another kind of trip: destination wedding!

image

Another form of travel I like is outreach. I enjoy much sharing stories to children under the trees and playing games with kids with rare diseases. Outreach = a time to give back, to share of the things you had. I am not a big giver. It there’s one thing that I have invested on these outreach that is time. In my little ways, I know I have shared a spark of hope to the people my friends and i have reached out.

A day out with a friend from Philippine Society of Orphan Disorders. Credits to Sir Peth Salvador of Photography With A Difference. Manila Ocean Park, May 2011.

A day out with a friend from Philippine Society of Orphan Disorders. Credits to Sir Peth Salvador of Photography With A Difference. Manila Ocean Park, May 2011.

Leave a Reply

