The Joy of Waiting: 3rd Tri First Month

Our Toffee Pie is growing so fast.  July 11, 2014, we officially entered the first month of our 3rd and final trimester.

How was it like to be on this trimester? Excited! I am super excited and nervous at the same time. I spend most of the days at home because I fear that Baby Sophie may come anytime. But of course, I am claiming that there will be no preterm labor delivery.

Heavy with Baby Sophie at 29 weeks and 5 days

Heavy with Baby Sophie at 29 weeks and 5 days

Tummy is getting bigger and feels heavier. Occasionally, I feel pain on my lower back and middle joints. My OB explained that this pain is caused by the additional weight that my body is carrying. I have also observed that I’m a little clumsier.  I now have to move slower and more careful. Pipi, I now walk slower! 🙂

My weight gain is at 2 kg in a span of a month. My OB is alarmed so she advised me to stop taking my prenatal vitamins but should continue taking calcium, iron and Vitamin Complex. I should really slowed down on those suman.

Some cardio activities are encouraged. I wanted to do my 20-minute work-out every day but the lazy side of me is preventing me to. So I do it every other day. It’s been raining lately thus I have no choice but to stay indoor because of . . .

Weak immune system. Bearing that the immune system of mom-to-bes are on the weaker side, I have to do ever possible measure to prevent myself from getting sick.

On my 29th week, I had cough and runny nose in the morning for a week. Thankfully, colds were cured by water therapy. I only have to deal with my morning cough. I was prescribed to take mucolytic and antibiotics for 5 days. Yeah, antibiotics! Doc Bringas assured me that Cefalexin is safe for pregnant mommies and unborn children.

Question in mind: Will my baby also get colds and cough if I have them?

Good news! The answer is no.

Sleepiness: Most of the times, I felt sleepy. My usual waking up time is 6:30 am. After finishing some household chores at around 9:30 am, I started to feel the urge to take a nap. I give in to it most of the times knowing that my body is now storing up energy for the big day. Am glad that the people here in the house are supportive of me. They just let me doze off when I need to.

 A Throwback on AntibioticsMeadow-Flowers-Clip-Art-222x250

This is already my second time to take antibiotics. The first one is during my 2nd trimester when I contracted UTI. Believe me, a decision to take antibiotics is scary. I read through the possible effects of uncured UTI among pregnant mommies and it was scary to know that it could be fatal to the fetus and may also cause preterm delivery. So I took my chances and prayed that the medication will not harm Baby Sophie.

Keep on Doing

  • Drink more water: since I ‘ve learned that I am pregnant. My minimum water intake a day is 3 liters. It’s so important that pregnant moms like me are properly dehydrated. It helps proper digestion; aids the transportation of  nutrients to the baby, and keeps the skin from drying.
  • Eat healthy. Consume less salt, oil and sugar. Avoid processed food. Consume more fruits and veggies. For me that means citrus fruits and green leafy vegetables.
  • Do cardio with proper warm-up and stretching.
  • Maintain proper posture.
  • Interact with baby by talking, singing and reading stories. My interaction with baby also includes rubbing my tummy specially when she’s doing her jabs and kick. “Yes, baby I felt you.”
  • Exercise proper breathing.
  • Rest.
  • Laugh more. Stay positive.
  • Pray for and speak blessings to our little one.

Have a happy buntis day!

osCV6L6 - anne

Leave a Reply

