What are You Thankful For?

It’s Thanksgiving!

Nope. We’re not roasting a turkey nor baking cornucopia. It’s not part of Filipino culture. We have roasted pig but will only be ready on Christmas. As the other part of the world is busy preparing for a traditional dinner, I am reflecting on the things I am thankful for this year. Negative life issues can take away the attitude of thankfulness in our hearts. Sometimes, the blessings that we receive becomes a reason why we forget to offer our thanksgiving to God. I am talking about work.

As the year 2014 is nearing its end, it would be great to look back and count the blessing our family and I have received. This my friend is an early year-end praise report.

Untitled-4

  1. Safe pregnancy and safe birth. I had spots, my water broke prematurely but Sophie and I made it through. Healthy and kicking. My birth plan wasn’t followed. Will I still complain knowing that my Sophie is healthy and beautiful? I dropped the complains and let gratitude fill my heart. I was grateful for the gift of life. For a new soul to love me. I was amazed how financial help came. I was amazed on how God sustains me through the sleepless night. Strength. Endurance. Sanity. There are times I shed tears but these are not of postpartum depression. I never went through that. Thank you, Lord!
  2. -sophie3_799585968_nProvision. The time I sent my resignation letter to my boss, I began to worry about my finances. I have bills to pay, a credit card balance to be cleared. I have been jobless for 5 month. Purely dependent to my parents financially. During those days of father-please-buy-me-this, I remembered the pesos I spent on unimportant things. But by God’s grace, I was able to find an online job. Earning is enough to cover Sophie’s needs. And yes, I felt proud that I am now capable to bless my parents with weekly grocery.Abundant milk supply. I had plenty of liquid gold. More than enough to feed and nourish my little darling.
  3. Nehemiah’s schooling and job search visa (and soon a PR visa, amen!). My super beloved brother is official holding a diploma for his study in NZ.
  4. Supportive family and friends. My pregnancy is semi-secret. I hid for months before my family and closest friends found out. Perhaps, it was pride. I fear being judged of having a baby outside marriage. One thing I realized, if family or friends left you because of these kinds of issue. They are not real as they claim to be. They may ‘beat’ you for your mistake but it won’t forever be the case. They will only do that to get you back to the path where you should be walking. After the lectures, they will help you go back to your feet, help heal your wounds and start all over again. Sniff. Sniff.

i thank God for his steadfast love.

I thank god for his grace.

How about you? What are the things you are thankful for?

Leave a Reply

